a time for thanks

This has been a heck of a year. I’ve been through a lot, come close to giving up more than once, and, in the end, managed to pick myself back up and keep going. I can’t say that it was fun to go through a lot of what I’ve gone through, but I can say that there were surprising gifts and blessings and joys that often accompanied the crappy, stressful stuff. Something would fall apart…but then something even better would come along. I would be sure something wasn’t going to work out, and then it did. Having to sit with my engine on idle for a few months led to insights about what I want and need in my life that surprised me and have changed the way I look at things. I’m not the same person I was this time last year, and I think that’s a good thing.

I’m still discombobulated (don’t you love that word?) by the unlikeliness of all that’s happened and where it’s landed me. I’m still trying to get a foothold, still trying to figure out who I am going forward. But somehow, in spite all of the craziness of the past year, I’ve managed to keep this blog going. Or maybe I have that backwards. This blog and its readers have been a constant for me in the midst of a wildly unpredictable year. Your “likes” and comments have encouraged me, and knowing you were out there reading—expecting at the very least a quote du jour—kept me posting even when the last thing I felt like doing was write a post or come up with another inspiring, thought-provoking quote. (My thoughts were provoked quite enough, thank you!)

Along the way, more of you kept following pathwriter, in increasing numbers, even during the times when I felt I was neglecting you. One day I looked at my stats to find that I’d somehow passed the 500-follower mark. When (and how) did that happen?

It doesn’t really matter, of course. The only thing that matters, the only thing I really wanted to say when I sat down to write this is thank you. Thank you for following, for reading, for liking, for commenting, for reblogging or sharing my posts on Twitter and Facebook…for any tiny thing you might have done to keep me posting—and thereby, putting one virtual foot in front of the other. Thank you for being part of the reason I didn’t go off the deep end this year. I am truly and deeply grateful.

~pathwriter

16 thoughts on “a time for thanks

  1. Dear Pathwriter
    I dont know what has been happening in your year–except that your posts have sometimes been the light in my day.
    Thanks do not describe the gratitude for your loyal blogging!
    Warm winter wishes,Jacqueline

  2. Dear Viki,
    Every once in a while I come upon a blog that makes me sit up and pay close attention. Yours was that one. I know I have been your silent reader, just leaving you a trail of Likes while waiting patiently (eagerly) for your next post. Thank you for sharing. Aren’t we all just making our way home and holding each other’s hands along the way. Thank you. For speaking to me even through my own journey of not going off the deep end this year. And a Happy Thanksgiving to you! Sharon

    • Dear Sharon,
      How kind you are…you need to know that I’ve come to look forward to your likes…seeing your photo pop up—and your wonderful blog name! As a longtime gardener (who is currently without a garden), I am drawn to anything that hints at plants and flowers. I have been intending to visit your blog for a long time now, promising myself a coffee date during which I will do nothing but be a cyber-tourist and visit the blogs of those who have followed me in recent months. I hope to do just that sometime this weekend! I love your comment about all of us making our way home and holding each other’s hand along the way…you have expanded one of my favorite quotes by Ram Dass: “We’re all just walking each other home.” I will now forever think of us holding each other’s hands along the way. :) Happy Thanksgiving…Viki

  3. Thank you, in return, PW. Your messages come through the inbox clutter like a shooting star on a quiet night. Like you, I have been through much recently. Through the loss of a child, and the dissolution of my marriage soon after, your blog has helped me to maintain a firm grip on the wheel. Honestly, I don’t even recall how I came across your blog, but isn’t that the most wondrous part about such things? I wish you well through the upcoming holidays, and thank you for your hard work. -Robert Pupke West Islip, NY “There is a saying in Tibetan, ‘Tragedy should be utilized as a source of strength.’ No matter what sort of difficulties, how painful experience is, if we lose our hope, that’s our real disaster.” -Dalai Lama

    Date: Thu, 28 Nov 2013 05:20:30 +0000 To: hiphippo@hotmail.com

    • Dear Robert…I’m so sorry to hear of your losses. I can’t even imagine the pain of losing a child, and to have one’s marriage end as well…my heart goes out to you, and I’m glad to know that pathwriter has helped. I agree with the Dalai Lama’s quote. There was a time in my life when I was close to losing my hope; yet I somehow clawed my way back up from the pit. With the more peaceful gaze that time and distance can bring, I’ve realized that all of the pain I went through all those years ago did in fact strengthen me and it also made me more compassionate and kind. Thank you so much for taking the time to tell me your story…I’ll be thinking of you and sending good thoughts your way. Viki/pathwriter

      • Pathwriter: Your blog has been what I have needed so many, many, many times. And though I don’t know you very well, don’t know all of what you’ve been dealing with- I feel connected you. That may sound strange coming from a stranger, so I apologize for that. Thank you for posting even when you haven’t felt like it- your perseverance is inspiring.

        • I don’t think it’s strange at all. I’ve come to feel connected with several of my fellow bloggers, especially the ones like you, who find that what I post is often exactly what they needed to read on a particular day. I think we all find our way to those who can help us along our journeys, even if they often do so without knowing it.

  4. Vicki (y) …. It seems that so many of us keep each other going… While I started my blog to just write whatever I wanted…life for me became more complex also. So I am happy that you have come through a difficult time with the help of those here on WordPress … take care of yourself …. Diane

  5. I too don’t actually know you…but it does seem like I do…your posts really do seem to stand out. You seem so genuine when you write. But I can not pay you anywhere near as good a compliment as Robert. You should be very proud of the way you are able to reach/help people.

    • Thank you for your kind words. I’m grateful and humbled when someone like Robert shares with me that I’ve helped just by posting to this blog. Although I don’t understand the particulars, I do think we’re all connected somehow, and when I was in my late twenties, it dawned on me that I could make a difference in the world simply by being present to the needs of the person standing right in front of me. This is what I return to when I hear about all of the troubles and disasters across the globe. I can’t save all of those faraway people, but I can smile at the grocery store cashier or encourage a child—and post quotes du jour for my readers to stumble across at the times when they’re most needed. I fully believe that we are all, at times, angels for each other—sometimes without even being aware of it. :)

  6. I don’t always take time to read all the blogs I follow but I do read “pathwriter” every time it posts. I am often inspired by your quote du jour and feel I’ve received a gift on the days you decide to write about your life.
    I’m grateful to you for keeping this blog going and for somehow knowing what I need to hear almost every day. :) Hugs to you. Brenda

Leave a Reply

