a path less travelled

img_0824.jpgWalking trail, North Carolina Museum of Art, Raleigh, NC – Photo by Viki Atkinson

I don’t remember exactly how the name pathwriter came to be. I was creating this blog, and it had to have a name, and I probably had a thought about writing being a part of my path…or writing being a way to find my path…or something. I’ve been focusing a lot of my energy on trying to navigate my personal/spiritual path these last few years, so I guess the name wasn’t a big surprise.

Along the way, I’ve been drawn to walking literal paths as well—the Poet’s Walk at Ayr Mount in Hillsborough, NC; the paths in and around Forest Hill Park and along the James River in Richmond, VA—and recently, I discovered the trails adjacent to the North Carolina Museum of Art here in Raleigh. I’ve been there probably six of the last ten days, and I love the fact that I can drive ten minutes from my house in the city and be walking in the woods. There are some paved paths that are great for an easy stroll (and strollers), but the ones I love are the ones that take you down into the woods and are “paved” with only dirt and gravel and leaves.

Of course, with a blog named pathwriter, I’m always on the lookout for “photogenic” paths that I can use for the blog’s header image. I’ve found a few over the last couple of years, and the museum trails have quite a few lovely spots that I’ve documented. Anyway, I thought it might be fun to share some of my path photos here from time to time, so here’s one from the museum trails to start things off. I hope you enjoy looking at my paths as much as I enjoy walking them.

6 thoughts on “a path less travelled

  1. What a beautiful picture. Are you a photographer also?

    The word path figures large in my life also. Isn’t it wonderful to find a piece of “the wilderness” in the city? I live in Roanoke and my back yard represents a wilderness area to me. I love the woods, the deer, the raccoon and possums and the beautiful trees.

    I seem to be following you. We are going to be moving to the Danville, Va. area for my husband’s job and I will be only 80 miles from Raleigh.

    • Thank you! No, I’m just a person with an iPhone. :) Actually, my brother is a very talented professional photographer. You can see some of his work here: http://www.markatkinson.com/.

      I like taking photographs, and I think my choreographer/designer’s eye often helps me choose a good angle or see how to frame a shot. Sometimes I get lucky, but I also take a lot of shots that miss or simply don’t work. Mostly, I do it for fun…it’s another way to be creative.

      That’s exciting about your move to Danville! I read your post about not getting a clear message about where to move, and I was going to tell you to just sit tight until you got more info, but obviously you got the info you needed!

      I love that you’re going to be so close. If I were still living in Hillsborough (NC), we’d only be about 45 minutes from each other. Hillsborough is also about 40-45 minutes from Raleigh, so it’s halfway for both of us…maybe we could meet in the middle sometime once you get moved!

      • Hi Viki,
        Hopefully we will be moved before the end of the month. If we get the house we want, we will be in Blanch, NC which is about 3miles from Yanceyville and 8 miles from Danville. When I get settled we will have to meet somewhere. I hear Chapel Hill has a Trader Joe’s so I will be coming that way. :)

Leave a Reply

