fast forward

When you walk to the edge of all the light you have and take that first step into the darkness of the unknown, you must believe that one of two things will happen. There will be something solid for you to stand upon or you will be taught to fly.
~Patrick Overton

I read somewhere once that the Universe (or God or whatever you call the divine force) first speaks us in a whisper. If we don’t pay attention, it speaks a little louder, and if we’re still not listening, it ups the volume to a shout—metaphorically speaking, of course. And if we’re not moving fast enough on following the guidance of the divine, sometimes it gives us a little nudge. If we ignore the nudge, we get a big ol’ shove.

Well, it seems the Universe wants me to move a little faster with my big leap than I had in mind. It seems I need to get a move on, so I’ve been presented with a situation that’s requiring me to pretty much drop everything and concentrate on wrapping up the current chapter of my life so that I can move on to the next one. Note: this means saying farewell to “what is” without really knowing “what’s next”…except in a very general sense.

It’s a little scary. No, actually, it’s a lot scary. I really don’t know how I’m going to do what needs to be done in the time that it needs to happen, but I don’t really have much choice. It’s what’s in front of me. And once I do accomplish it? Well, I know the general direction, but the details that will get me from here to there? Don’t have a clue.

The ingredients for this venture? A LOT of faith. Good friends. Deep breaths. Repeating mantras (a LOT) like, “It’s all going to work out. It’s going to be fine. I can do this.” More faith.

Initially, I was a basket case. Today, I’m optimistic but nervous. I still get overwhelmed when I think about what’s in front of me, but at the moment, I’m hanging in there. As I said in an email to a friend: “One foot in front of the other. Deep breaths.” And as a fellow dancer once said to me: “Breathe and sway. Breathe and sway.”

So here I go—breathing and swaying, one foot in front of the other, full speed ahead.

7 thoughts on “fast forward

  1. I’m not sure what i would like to offer for a comment. Just want you to know you’re being heard. I hope you’re surprised by things going smoother than expected. Mary Ellen

  2. I’m thinking of you on your journey and feeling how blessed I am to know you. I admire your willingness to jump off the cliff when you are not sure how to fly or which direction to go. I have a feeling you will land on your feet even though you may bounce around a little on the way. Happy day to you. Hugs, Brenda

  3. I have so been there and done that!!!!! I know how you are feeling. I wish I could be closer and help with the mundane task of packing, lifting and hauling. Once you are on this side of the world I offer my back, my soul and my ear. My prayers and with you and I am swaying and breathing with you!!!! lisa

    • Me, too! (Though none of my leaps have been quite this big!) I look forward to getting together with you when I get back in your neck of the woods….meanwhile, thanks for the prayers and the breathing and swaying! Viki

Leave a Reply

