all fall down re-blog

pathwriter’s note: Every morning, I read Mark Nepo’s Book of Awakening, and today’s reading (which I first posted last January 2nd) fits so well the place I’ve come to in the last few days. I’ve “put down” a pretty big thing that I’ve been carrying, and I’m finally ready to walk through a door that I’ve been standing in front of for a long time. I don’t know how it’s all going to unfold, but just having made the decision has lifted a huge weight from my shoulders. I wish for you a happy, expansive 2013…here’s to putting down the things we need to let go of so that we can finally move forward.

pathwriter

Lead us from the real to the unreal.

~Hindu invocation

It was a snowy night, and Robert was recalling the time two springs ago when he was determined to paint the family room. Up early, he was out the door, to the hardware store gathering the gallons of red, the wooden mixing sticks, the drop cloths, and the one-time brushes that always harden, no matter what you soak them in.

He mixed the paint outside and waddled to the door with a gallon in each hand, the drop cloth under his arm, and a wide brush in his mouth. He began to chuckle in telling what happened,

View original post 279 more words

One thought on “all fall down re-blog

Leave a Reply

