miracles

Miracles are not contrary to nature, but only contrary to what we know about nature.

~Saint Augustine

I hope this is true, because I’m in need of a miracle at the moment. The details aren’t really important, but I’ve been going through an especially difficult time the last few months. When things are stressful, I generally try to stay positive and keep the faith that things will work out—and most of the time, they do—but this time, unless a humdinger of a miracle shows up in the next few days, I’m facing a loss that will pretty much turn my life upside down.

Who knows? Maybe that’s what’s in the plan for me. A friend of mine shared with me on two occasions in the last couple of years (years that have essentially been a non-stop stress-fest) that, while she was meditating, she’d gotten an image of me as the phoenix rising from the ashes. It seems to me that I’ve already been through my share of ashes lately, but maybe not. Maybe this is the ashes part.

I hope not. I hope this is just another test of faith, to see if I truly believe the words of kindness girl…that I’m “being held, every step of the way.” In the meantime, if you have any spare miracles lying around, I’d be grateful if you’d send one my way.

19 thoughts on “miracles

  1. ” spare miracles around..” In spite of perceived doom coming your way, you are able to make some one in this corner of the world, smile at your humour. I send my heartfelt good wishes to you.

  2. Hi Viki, I don’t know how far into the program you got but I hope it helped to some degree. I wish I had some words of wisdom for you, all I know is that after every period of upheaval and stress comes a time of even greater joy and contentedness. It’s hard to hold on to that thought when you’re in the midst of it but you know it’s true. I wish you all the luck in the world, and remember: miracles come in disguise sometimes. Take care, Stu

  3. Sending you all the positive thoughts and miracles I can muster. If it’s not too preachy and aggravating to hear at a tough time… I listened to a podcast recently about the Law of Attraction and the woman said something that really resonated with me. She said that everything, including change, is as easy or difficult as we decide it is. In other words if we say to ourselves, “This is going to be so hard.” Guess what? I am driving this morning down to Cape Cod, it should take a few hours. I will be thinking (and believing) the whole way that all your obstacles will be overcome with ease and joy. Hope it helps!

    • Thank you, Heather. I try to remember Abraham’s words about upstream and downstream, but it’s not always easy. Thanks for the reminder and for the good thoughts as you drive.

      Viki

      P.S. How wonderful that you’re heading to Cape Cod! Have a great time!

  4. Viki, I can relate. From past experience, I would say that rising from the ashes can happen again and again during our lifetimes. It seems like we won’t make it, but experience says we will like we always have before. Hang in there and good thoughts your way.

    • Yeah, I’ve had my share of ashes…this one’s just been going on for a loooong time now. However, it doesn’t seem to be in my DNA to actually give up, no matter how close I might get to that place, so I’ll just keep putting one foot in front of the other and see what happens. Thanks for the encouraging words. :) Viki

  5. Viki I read your posts all the time…not commenting on many, but always taking them in – unlike your previous posters I have nothing cool to say – as sometimes things in life really do suck – –

    Keep your Chin up

    • Danyelle…first, thanks for reading my posts all the time. :) Second, you did have something cool to say. Your comment/post—“sometimes things in life really do suck”—made me laugh out loud, and I can certainly use a laugh right now! So, thanks…and thanks for taking the time to post a comment, too. Much appreciated. Really. :) Viki

  6. If I find any laying around I’ll shoot them over your way.

    I so relate to this post. My husband and I have been in a “we need a miracle” process also. He’s been unemployed for too long now and unless something gives we’re headed down the tubes.

    Here’s what I think. We want a miracle also because we don’t want to head down the tubes. But, the biggest miracle for us is watching the unfolding of our ability to be with the dying of our bank account. Even in the midst of the fear which sometimes rears its head and the anxiety of having to perhaps move in with a relative, we somehow are both calm for the most part and accepting of the process.
    Will he get a job soon and our day will be saved? We don’t know. All we do know is how important it is to stay in the process and see what happens.Somehow, we know whatever happens is going to be okay.

    You’re going to be okay, Viki. You are awake and aware, you’re on a healing path,and it sounds like you’ve learned the benefit of being an observer. It’s good to step aside and see how we do life and it sounds like you’re doing it okay. A phoenix experience is a good thing. Hugs.

    • Deep breaths…deep, cleansing breaths. Sounds like we’re dealing with similar issues. I’m so glad you have your husband to weather the storm with you. :)

      A friend of mine who follows this blog emailed me this afternoon and asked me if I’d gotten my miracle. I told her that I hadn’t yet gotten the miracle I was talking about in the blog post, but that I’d been receiving little miracles all day in the form of kind words from my fellow bloggers and other friends who follow my blog.

      I think this is a lesson that is important but not so easy to learn—not to lose sight of the blessings that are right in the midst of the difficulties we’re facing. It’s been hard to keep this truth front and center during the past year. I have to renew my “practice” daily, especially lately, and remind myself constantly to look beyond the challenges to the gifts that nearly always accompany them.

      One of the great blessings of the past year for me has been “meeting” the people who read my blog and share with me through their own blogs. This community has enriched my life in ways I never could have anticipated. Thank you for being a part of that community and for offering words of encouragement and kindness, not only today but at other times as well. Hugs to you, too. :)

  7. I have no miracles, but i do have a heart full of prayers and positive “vibes” and its broadcast antenna is pointed in your direction. I, having wondered how many times my world can be relegated to ashes and still return better for the tribulation, can empathize with your feelings. As Friedrich Nietzsche said, “He who has a why to live can bear almost any how”.

Leave a Reply

