a legacy of heart

Tonight I learned that a friend of mine passed away last week. We did theatre together a million years ago and probably hadn’t seen each other in a couple of decades, but I had reconnected with him, as I had with many of my old theatre friends, through Facebook. I enjoyed reading his posts, including one from a few weeks ago, the clip of Dixie Carter as Julia Sugarbaker on Designing Women delivering “The Night the Lights Went Out in Georgia” speech.

Bob had an amazing voice and a wicked sense of humor, but what comes to me as I think back is his kindness. I can’t call up a specific instance or thing he said. It was simply the way he treated me, the way he was. Clearly, from the many loving tributes on his Facebook page in the week since his death, I’m not the only one who felt that way.

The circumstances of Bob’s death were hard to hear, and I’m sure I’m also not the only one who thought, If only I’d known. None of us knew, but I know we all wish we had.

So, please forgive me a moment of self-indulgence, for stepping a bit outside the usual pathwriter mode.  In honor of Bob, who loved to laugh, I share with you the Designing Women clip mentioned above. If you’d like, please watch and enjoy…and know that Bob not only loved this, but he also probably had the entire thing memorized.

6 thoughts on “a legacy of heart

    • I think you can like the post without liking the loss that prompted it…and Bob would have liked that you liked it (and Bob was definitely “good folks”). Thanks for stopping by and taking the time to comment.

  1. So sorry for the loss of your friend. Moments like this remind us of our own mortality and brevity of this gift called life. Look for the quiet moments of peace, Bob is there and he’s reciting Designing Women :-)

    • Thanks, Cheryl. I’m probably more sad about the why of his passing than the what, but he’s at peace now. And yes, he’s probably got the angels in tears from laughing at his jokes—and from the beauty of his singing. :-)

Leave a Reply

