saying what needs to be said

When you have something you truly need to say, there is someone who truly needs to hear it.
~Marianne Williamson

I’m sure I’m not the only blogger who has hit “publish” and later thought, Hmmm…I might have shared a little too much on that one. I’ve felt that way more than once in the last year, occasionally re-reading a post in the days after publishing it and feeling a little “exposed” by my own openness. But then I’ll get an email notification like the ones I got in response to yesterday morning’s post:

“thanks for sharing…i needed this pep talk today”

“I am inspired by your honesty and vulnerability. There is comfort knowing I am not alone in some of these feelings. Thank you.”

Today, when I came across the Marianne Williamson quote above, it reminded me that one of the main reasons I started this blog was to post things that might have meaning for someone—even if it’s only one person. So if “sharing a little too much” can help that one person, then I’m okay with feeling a little exposed from time to time.

5 thoughts on “saying what needs to be said

  1. That’s one of the reasons that I share as well…to perhaps encourage or give insight to another person….the only thing I don’t do is give names or specifics regarding my family in anything that would embarrass them or make them feel uncomfortable should they ever read it….not that they necessarily do but…… Diane

  2. Thanks for this wonderful quote. I too sometimes think my writing is nonsense or that I’ve said too much or too little. I need to be reminded that I’m saying all I’m supposed to say.

Leave a Reply

