quote du jour ~jordan – a mother is…

Mom & me – last year on her 82nd birthday

A mother is a person who, seeing there are only four pieces of pie for five people,
promptly announces she never did care for pie.

~Tenneva Jordan

I found a lot of quotes about mothers when I went looking online a couple of days ago, but I kept coming back to this one, because it sums up so well who my mother is. She is kind, compassionate, and open-minded in ways that some others of her generation and upbringing aren’t. She is unfailingly accepting of others and always sees the best in people; you can be certain that anyone who gets on her bad side pretty much deserves to be there.

When we were growing up, our friends were always welcome at our house, and they still ask after her, an inquiry usually accompanied by “I love your mom!” All of our ex-boyfriends and -girlfriends love her, too. Most of them still stay in touch with her, even though they’ve long since gone off and married some other mother’s children.

I’d planned to go down to see her this weekend, even though it would have been difficult for me to manage.  Instead, she called me Friday and said, “Don’t you worry about coming to see me this weekend. I know you love me, and we’ll see each other another time.” I did send her a card, and I called her this morning and sang “Happy Mother’s Day” to her (to the tune of “Happy Birthday”), but it still feels funny not being with her. She’s been my only parent since I was sixteen, when she was suddenly widowed, left with four children and an elderly mother to care for. She’s seen me through more ups and downs than I can count, and her love has never faltered. I think she’s pretty amazing, and I know for sure that when God was handing out mothers, he gave me the very best one.

~pathwriter

6 thoughts on “quote du jour ~jordan – a mother is…

  1. Pingback: the art of loving | pathwriter

Leave a Reply

