celebrating life

The Alvin Ailey American Dance Theater is one of my favorite dance companies. Ever since I first saw them perform, back when I was a twenty-something dance major, I’ve been in awe of the power of Mr. Ailey’s choreography and the strength and grace of his dancers. His signature piece, Revelations, continues to be an audience favorite, for good reason. It is a celebration of life, the joys, the sorrows, and everything in between.

I went looking on YouTube for the final section of Revelations tonight because I was in need of a little bit of uplifting, and it never fails to do the trick. (I have the entire dance on VHS, but my only VCR is in the basement.) While I wasn’t able to find a good video of the full cast (18 dancers) version of the final section, I did stumble across this video of the final section as it was performed by a smaller cast (10 dancers) at Mr. Ailey’s funeral in 1989. Small cast or not, it gave me the lift I needed, and I hope it will do the same for you.

4 thoughts on “celebrating life

Leave a Reply

