wherever you go, there you are…

An old man was sitting on the porch of the general store when a young man from the city drove up. The young man got out of the car and walked up to the old man and said, “I’m thinking of moving to this town, old man. What’s it like living here?”

The old man took a pull on his pipe and asked, “Well, young man, what’s it like where you come from?” The young man scowled. “It’s a terrible place!” he grumbled. “The people are incredibly rude and unfriendly. I can’t wait to leave!”

The old man nodded his head. “I see. Well, that’s pretty much what it’d be like around here, too.”

The next day, another young man drove up and stopped at the general store. He got out and approached the old man.  “Excuse me, sir,” he said. “I’m thinking of moving to this town. Can you tell me what it’s like to live here?” The old man looked at the young man and asked, “Well, young man, what’s it like where you live now?”

“Oh, it’s a wonderful place!” exclaimed the young man. “I have the most caring friends and neighbors. Everyone is kind and helpful, and I’ll miss it if I move away.”

The old man nodded his head, smiling. “Well, young man, that’s what it’d be like around here, too.”

~Source Unknown*

*I read/heard this story years ago, but can’t remember where. The story and its message, however, have stuck with me.

6 thoughts on “wherever you go, there you are…

Leave a Reply

