celebrating a friend’s gift

A few million years ago, Lisa Tate and I spent a summer dancing together in the mountains of North Carolina. We reconnected a couple of years ago on Facebook, only to find that we had unknowingly lived not too far from each other for several years. We live in different states now, but we stay in touch on Facebook.

Lisa regularly posts photos—mostly of the flora and fauna that live on her farm or in the surrounding area—and I’ve been wowed by her skills as a photographer. A Montessori teacher in “real” life (lucky kids!), Lisa has a wonderful eye and manages to make the lowliest of objects (like the spiky balls from sweet gum trees) into things of beauty simply because of the way she aims her camera at them.

To me, this is one of the great powers of photography (and of all of the arts, of course): the ability to make us take a second look at our world, to see it in a different way, to think about it differently. A well-shot image can reach into our hearts and our brains and get us to focus on parts of our world that we may have previously taken for granted.

Anyway, Lisa’s last batch of photos prompted me at last to send her a message asking if I could post some of her photos here.  Thankfully, she said yes, so I’ll be sharing her work from time to time. I hope you enjoy them as much as I do.

(Thanks, Lisa!)

10 thoughts on “celebrating a friend’s gift

  1. Thank you so much Viki!!!! You are so kind… I actually do have a website of photos that I have not told to many people about because I have not had the time to dedicate to it as I would like. It is bluesunponies.com.

    I took a two year course on connecting others to nature and decided to work towards showing the beauty of nature in photographs as my “practice”. I am not a professional photographer so the task as been a wonderful learning experience that I have truly enjoyed. I am happy to share the beauty of nature and I thank you so much Viki for assisting me in that endeavor!!!!

    It is hard to believe so many years have passed since we danced together! I hope to have a face to face visit in the near future!

    lisa

    • You’re so welcome! I love tooting the horns of my talented friends! :) I’m glad to know that you have a website, but I completely understand not having the time to devote to everything that you’d like to do. You’ve certainly succeeded in your goal to connect others to nature, and I’m happy to help widen the circle.

      And yes, I think a trip to NC is definitely in order…soon! :)

      xoxo
      Viki

  2. Pingback: quote du jour ~muir | pathwriter

  3. Pingback: perspective | pathwriter

Leave a Reply

