excerpt from callings ~gregg levoy

….we often end up trading our authenticity  for what we perceive as survival, terrified to swap security for our heart’s deepest desires, which is the imperative of all callings and one of the dominant fears in responding to them.

Saying yes to the calls tends to place you on a path that half of yourself thinks doesn’t make a bit of sense, but the other half knows your life won’t make sense without. This latter part, continually pushing out from within us with a centrifugal force, keeps driving us toward authenticity, against the tyranny of fear and inertia and occasionally reason, against terrific odds, and against the knocking of our hearts that signals the hour.

We find ourselves compelled to follow the sometimes blind spiritual instinct that tells us our lives have purpose and meaning. We find that we must act on this imperative despite the temptations—to back down and run for cover—that will divide even the most grimly resolute against themselves.

~Gregg Levoy, Callings: Finding and Following an Authentic Life

3 thoughts on “excerpt from callings ~gregg levoy

  1. About three years ago, I found your blog though a series of synchronicities and people. Something leads me back here from time to time and recently, I landed on this post. I’ve just ordered and begun to read Gregg Levoy’s book, ‘Callings: Finding and Following an Authentic Life’ and wanted to thank you for leading me to it. What an amazing book and exactly what I was looking for or needed right now. Anyway, I know that blogging can be challenging. Too many of us lurk, read, browse and forget to leave comments and let you how much we enjoy what you write. Viki, if something you post can inspire someone three years later, I hope that gives you reason to keep blogging, writing and inspiring. —Jim in Atlanta

    • Thank you, Jim. I love synchronicities! I also love Levoy’s book and have returned to it a number of times since I first purchased it all those years ago. In fact, now might be a good time for me to revisit it. Perhaps your choice to leave a comment tonight was meant to point me that way. :-)

      The past couple of months have found me turned inward, trying to sort things out about the current leg of my path. I’ve started a number blog posts but not finished them because I can’t seem to “finish” my thoughts. I’ve posted quotes so as not to leave my followers feeling abandoned, but it is true that blogging can be challenging, especially when one’s thoughts are…discombobulated. Yet, I also find that I miss posting here and am trying to find my way back to posting more regularly. I’m so glad that a post from three years ago led you to this wonderful book, and I thank you for taking the time to let me know. ~Viki

Leave a Reply

