divine telegrams

Not long after my divorce, I was in a home improvement store, feeling depressed and alone and exasperatedly trying to get 8-foot shoe molding to stay in my cart so that I could maneuver it through the aisles to check out.  As I was trying to accomplish this, a man passing by me looked at me and said, “You’ll be alright.” He, of course, thought he was talking to me about the shoe molding, but what I heard was the Universe responding to the sadness and loss and despair I was feeling, telling me that it would all be okay. I stood in the middle of the aisle, tears welling up in my eyes, and smiled.

You’ve probably experienced similar occurrences from time to time: the Universe (or God or Allah or whatever name you give that divine force that connects us all) delivers a message that you sorely need to hear, just when you need to hear it, in some strange, unexpected way. The “messenger” could be a friend or a perfect stranger. It could be a song on the radio, or a billboard, or a passage in a book. Heck, a Facebook post could deliver your message from the divine.

Tonight it was the sample guy at Trader Joe’s. He’s retired and only works there a couple of days a week, and we’ve become friendly in the last year or so. We talked about this and that, nothing profound, but there were a couple of times in the conversation that he dropped some words that I needed to hear—little reminders from the Universe letting me know I’m doing okay, that I’m on the right track.

If you’re thinking this kind of thing hasn’t ever happened to you, it could be that you just dismissed it as some weird coincidence. Or maybe you haven’t been paying attention. I don’t know. All I know is that I’ve had enough of these messages to know that they’re more than just coincidences (actually, I stopped believing in “coincidences” a long time ago), and I can’t imagine that I’m the only one on the planet that the Universe has chosen to communicate with in this way.

So next time you’re in need of a little guidance—a bit of encouragement, a word of comfort—keep your eyes and your ears open. The message you need to hear may be right in front of you, just waiting to be received.

9 thoughts on “divine telegrams

    • I assure you I’m quite ordinary. I have had experiences from time to time that some might consider extraordinary, but would be looked on as ordinary if we accepted and paid more attention to such ways of receiving guidance. I think that the Universe (the Divine, whatever your name for it) is always communicating with us, but we’re not always listening! :)

  1. OK I accept that you are ordinary but it is the ordinariness that speaks loud and clear. I think that is what the mystics are all about. They could make the very ordinary into extraordinary. I will have to find a better word or phrase to describe that. I still feel it is an extraordinary experience.

    • I think that what makes such extraordinary experiences possible for ordinary people is our willingness to remain open to them. The two men that I mention in the post could have said exactly the same words, and yet, had I not been open to such things, I would not have received the messages that were so clearly intended for me. I think the mystic’s intention/ability to see the divine in all things, to see the ways that we are all connected/the same, changes his/her relationship to the world. And I think we all have the capacity to see the world the way that the mystic does—if we will open our hearts and look at the world with more than just our physical eyes.

  2. Pingback: quote du jour ~borysenko | pathwriter

Leave a Reply

