keeping on keeping on

It’s been a tough week. The details aren’t necessary, but I’ve spent a good bit of the last few days in tears. I’ve also spent a good bit of time trying to sort for the lesson in the pain.

At the heart of the matter is that I was treated in a way that I didn’t feel that I deserved. Things were said that were unkind and distorted and deeply hurtful. And in a pretty public way.

Although the hurt hasn’t gone away, I’m at least beginning to see a little of the lesson in all of this. At some point in our lives, we are all treated in ways that are unfair, in ways that we don’t deserve to be treated. Often there is nothing we can do to change the actual situation; the only thing we can control is the way that we respond. Do we let the incident crush our spirit? Do we carry the hurt with us and let it weigh us down and sour our outlook as we go forward with our lives? Do we let it keep us from moving forward?

I generally make an effort to treat the people in my life with care and respect, even those that are not necessarily easy to like, so I haven’t experienced a lot of this sort of thing—and maybe that’s why this has been so difficult to take. What I see now is that there are some people for whom no amount of effort will yield positive results, and that my task is to try to forgive them and release them with love…and move on. I’m not quite there yet, but at least I know what I’m working toward.

4 thoughts on “keeping on keeping on

  1. Dear Pathwriter, Years ago I found myself in a similar situation and was given some wonderful advice from a Buddhist Nun. It freed me in such a profound way that I have, through the years, offered it to others who seem to be seeking answers. She said, “If what’s being said is true there is nothing to be upset about because it’s what’s true, and likewise if what’s being said is untrue….” You get the idea. When I embraced this concept, I felt myself almost removed from the experience, in that it became about the other person. What they were saying / doing was no longer about me. It was about who they were and because of that, I was able to feel compassion and forgiveness. I was no longer a victim.
    Blessings to you,
    Michelle

    • Yes, this is the way that I’m trying to look at it. The phrase from the Bible comes to mind…”Forgive them, they know not what they do.” Thank you so much for taking the time to share your story. Viki

  2. Hi, Viki. Michelle said that so well! Thank you Michelle! And Viki…I can totally relate to your story. Like you, I have experienced very few times in my life when this type of thing has happened, and when it has, it brings me to my knees….it’s actually quite humbling. Here I am walkin’ along, thinkin’, “I can totally handle anything that comes my way,” and then, BAM! ;) You are going to LOVE Mark Nepo’s selection for today! Hang in there. xoxoxox Susannah

Leave a Reply

