dog is god spelled backwards

Darcey (right) and her buddy Sage take a break on the back porch

God…sat down for a moment when the dog was finished in order to watch it… and to know that it was good, that nothing was lacking, that it could not have been made better.
~Rainer Maria Rilke

Here’s to my dog, Darcey, who makes me laugh, loves me even when I’m not feeling very lovable, and reminds me daily of the joy to be found in the simple things in life—running on the beach, lying in the sun, chasing squirrels, napping on the living room rug, and playing full-out, no-holds-barred with her doggie pals in the neighborhood. She’s a perfect example of living in the moment—whatever she does, she does with complete focus and abandon. We would all do well to take a page from her book.

I “rescued” Darcey through the local SPCA four years ago, but she’s more than repaid the favor since coming to live with me. She’s made good days better and kept bad days from running off in a ditch. She makes me laugh, sometimes because she does something funny, but often because I simply get caught up in her boundless enthusiasm for whatever captures her attention. A truly faithful companion, she loves to be wherever I am. Last year, when I came home after having knee surgery, she parked herself next to the bed and refused to leave my side; my mother couldn’t even coax her to go eat. She also takes her job of watchdog seriously; neither human nor animal intruders are tolerated, and she has foiled attempts by both to invade our space. I can’t imagine my life without her.

With any luck, Darcey and I still have a lot of years left to spend together. Her breed (English Shepherd) is supposed to be pretty long-lived, and I hope that’s the case. Whatever time we have, though, I’ll be grateful. She is the best of dogs, and I am the luckiest of humans.

Darcey enjoying a sunny fall day

6 thoughts on “dog is god spelled backwards

  1. Pingback: 7×7 award « pathwriter

  2. Darcey and all dogs in my opinion are our soul mirrors. Their life lived in the present is God’s reminder for us to live the same and when we are with our canine companions there is no other way we can be. I too have rescued my last two dogs and in return have been rescued by their unconditional love and i wouldnt have it any other way.

  3. I agree. Darcey reminds me daily that I need to just STOP and be with/connect with what’s in front of me, instead of always racing ahead (in my actions or my thoughts) to what’s next.

  4. Pingback: things that make me smile – darcey in the snow | pathwriter

  5. Pingback: things that make me smile – cheyenne « pathwriter

Leave a Reply

