finding my way

Cease trying to work everything out with your minds; it will get you nowhere. Live by intuition and inspiration and let your whole life be a revelation.

~Eileen Caddy, “Footprints on the Path”

When I was in my twenties and thirties, I never had a plan for my life, and yet I always managed to find myself in situations that led me almost effortlessly to the things I wanted to do and the people I wanted to work with or the experiences that I needed to carry me to the next phase of my journey.  Then I finally made the painful decision to end a long-failing marriage, and suddenly my trusty inner compass seemed to short-circuit.

It has taken me some years to re-connect with and re-learn to trust in that inner knowing that served me so well in my younger years.  What I’ve finally realized is that when I try to do the thing that “makes sense” or seems logical–even though it doesn’t feel natural or right to me–when I try to “push the river” and make things happen, nothing seems to work. But when I get out of my own way and trust that the way will be shown to me–as it has been so many times in the past–it’s like a dam opens, and my life begins to flow. Opportunities arrive, often completely out of left field, and they’re just right and carry their own sort of logic.

I still have my moments of doubt and worry; however, I’m getting much better at having those moments and then letting them go. I find that it’s much easier than it used to be to hit the “reset” button and return to that place of faith.

Living this way might sound a little crazy to some people, but I kind of like the idea of my life being a revelation. There’s a sense of magic and wonder that balances out the uncertainty, and who doesn’t want a little magic in their lives?

One thought on “finding my way

  1. Pingback: 7×7 award « pathwriter

Leave a Reply

